GreenZap. Are you ready?


Hate PayPal? If you’ve been online long enough, you’ll remember two things: PayPal used to offer both the referrer and the referree (sp?) $5 for every new sign-up. It was wildly popular and successful and now PayPal dominates the landscape. Lots of copycats showed up, like Flooz and Yahoo PayDirect and Citibank (I forget the exact name!), only to fail miserably.

Enter GreenZap. Another PayPal alternative, except they are offering $25 free for people who “pre-register”, as they don’t actually go live until 6/15/05. Referrers get $5 (and possibly more).

[Deleted my promo code since this looks like a scam] You only need name, address, and e-mail right now, so in case this is something shady, you might want to use a spam address. If it is for real, I predict a lot of buzz about this in the future. Caveat Emptor.

Update: It turns out the $25 is “WebCash”, which is about as valuable as Monopoly money.


Bookmark or Share:
These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.

  • del.icio.us
  • Reddit
  • Digg
  • Furl
  • NewsVine
  • Spurl
  • StumbleUpon

Find more in Deals & Offers | 4/5/05, 7:48pm | Trackback

Comments

  1. Dawn Says:

    I don’t know if it is your link or their link, but the referral isn’t working and neither is the homepage… so might be them.

  2. Dawn Says:

    I think I may have found the answer here
    http://greenzap.blogspot.com/
    It seems to be their site that is overloaded

  3. Cap Says:

    hmm i havent seen the site yet since there’s the server overload.. but the fact that they couldnt anticipate or handle that.. speaks a lot about the company itself. especially if it aims to be an internet payment transaction company. but yeah i guess we’ll find out. that person’s blog on greenzap is interesting.

  4. Cap Says:

    just to add in, there’s some discussion at scam.net http://www.scams.net/showthrea.....t=greenzap

    which makes a good point. besides collecting your information, there are those of us that DO USE the same password for all our sites (not a good idea).. so this supposed site is gathering info and possible potential real passwords. Quite a lot of effort I think, but yeah.

    on another note, for my sensitive accounts, my passwords are usually different, and varies with letters and numbers and different captions.

  5. steve Says:

    latest tidbit on greezap - there are rumors on freeauctionscripts.com http://www.freeauctionscripts......html#90531 that it is run by non other than damon westmoreland (well known pyramid/ponzi scam artist)

    not to mention the fact that it is a pyramid scheme - if you upgrade by putting in $100, then you get paid for each referral that also puts up $100, and if they get others beneath them to do it, you get even more
    this is from the greenzap community forum and their supposed “liason”.

Leave a Reply

* Required. Comments may be placed into moderation.


Subscribe to new articles via e-mail:





net worth progress bar